texshelters

We must redefine “pro-life”

In Economics, Human Rights and the Constitution on October 8, 2010 at 00:06

Why I am pro-life

I am pro-life because I believe in protecting women.

I am pro-life because I don’t want women to have to die when there is the unlikely chance that the baby might live. I am pro-life because I believe a woman should have the right to decide what risks to take with her body.  I am pro-life because I know no other person, government agency or group of activists should force a woman to make a choice one way or another about her pregnancy.

I am pro-life because I believe all children should have the opportunity to be born into a healthy family with a healthy body and a live mother at the right time.

I am pro-life because I believe raped women shouldn’t be forced to live with the trauma of bringing the product of a rape to term. I am pro-life because I support the right of women to bring that life to term.

I am pro-life because I believe an incest victim has the right to terminate the product of incest, and I am pro-life because I know that the child of incest will live with the trauma of the incest if not genetically based medical problems. I am pro-life because I support the right of a teen, child, or woman who is the victim of incest to bring a child to term if she so wishes.

I am pro-life because I believe that no one can decide for another person what she does with her body.

I am pro-life because I am NOT pro-abortion. No one is pro-abortion. However, some people know how difficult the choice is for a woman and that no one can decide for her.

I am pro-life because I am pro-choice.

Peace,
Tex Shelters

P.S. I do believe in an age limit for a pregnancy termination, except in exceptional situations. Most laws put the legal termination age between 20-24 weeks. Studies show that a baby can’t live outside the womb before 23-28 weeks of age.

  1. Well said Tex!

  2. You spoke for me. I’ll add: I’m pro-life because I’m against hunting other species using unjust means: leghold traps, helicopters,snowmobiles – anything giving an insurmountable advantage. Pro-life because I’m against factory farming for all species – animals are not products – this includes fur-stripping farms and puppy mills. I’m pro-life because I’m against circus and rodeo torment for humans’ amusement. I’m pro=life because I’m against the capture of parrots, tigers and other “exotics” to make humans less bored. I’m pro-life because I believe that the rain forests and the animal species who populate them have a right to life. I extend pro-life to all species.

  3. Thank you, Tex. I wish everyone understood this issue as thoroughly as you do.

    I was one of those women who would have died without an abortion. I never had a choice about whether to allow my baby to live, it would have died no matter what I did. So I chose to live myself and stay alive for my other three children who would have been without a mother if I hadn’t had an abortion.

    My story isn’t uncommon. It happens to 3 out of every 100 pregant women. Abortion MUST be kept legal to save the lives of millions of women who will die without one.

    I am not pro-abortion, I am pro-life and many of those lives which will be saved belong to healthy women who deserve the chance to live.

    • Kathi,

      Thank you so much. I didn’t know that 3 out of 100 women have those issues. Your story and many others is why we need to keep abortion safe and legal.

      Peace,
      Tex Shelters

  4. I agree with yer post Tex, but I have a question. On what basis is this “age limit” determined? Just beacuse it “might” survive outside the womb? Why then. Why not support legal abortion up to birth?

  5. Temy,

    A lot of the viability of a fetus has to do with a completely developed nervous system, and a set of lungs and heart that pump blood and oxygen without the need of the mother.

    http://www.dcdoctor.com/pages/rightpages_wellnesscenter/pregnancy/fetaldevelopment.html

    But I am not an expert. Personally, after that the fetus is fully human and viable.

    Peace,
    Tex Shelters

  6. Hey Tex, you know my position on this. That said I do give you kudos for at least having some limits. I have a beautiful 24 year old stepdaughter that was born at 26 weeks and now have a great grandson to show for it.

    • Jake,

      Congratulations!

      Most people want some rights and some limits on this issue as well as speech and guns.

      Peace,
      Tex Shelters

  7. The later a baby is born, the more likely he is to survive. Almost 30 percent of babies born at 23 weeks of pregnancy survive, while about 50 to 60 percent of babies born at 24 weeks, about 75 percent born at 25 weeks, and more than 90 percent born at 27 to 28 weeks, survive (3,4,5).

    Above is from the March of Dimes and can be found here.

    http://www.marchofdimes.com/professionals/14332_1196.asp

    • Jake,

      Congratulations! I find that most people want some limits and some rights, like free speech and other rights.

      Thanks.

      Peace,
      Tex Shelters

    • Jake,

      Thats why the later the gestation, the fewer choices one should have.

      Thanks for the information.

      Peace,
      Tex Shelters

Comments are closed.

